Some More Terror

Filed under News

18 July 2014

SOFT RIOT | Some More TerrorSome More Terror is the next of two full-length releases coming from SOFT RIOT. This recording containing 11 tracks of instrumental, ambient-influenced synth sounds and acts as a slight detour between the previous album, Fiction Prediction, and the proper follow-up to come called You Never Know What Might Come Next.

Some More Terror will be released by Sanity Muffin (US) in the Americas and Desire (FR) in Europe. It will be released in a nice, fat C60 cassette format as well as digital. The US and European releases will have slightly different sleeve artwork.

Taking as much inspiration from films and their soundtracks as much as electronic, post-punk music itself, this recording is intended to flow as an atmospheric backdrop to the surroundings of the bizarre, somewhat dystopian 21st Centuryworld that we all live in. It’s meant to be a more political record, although eschewing the standard route most music takes in that fashion, opting to emphasize that feeling in the song titling, sounds, and extended artwork in the cassette release.

More information, including ordering and release date information, to come soon. In the meantime here’s the tracklisting:

01 : Things Behind Boardroom Doors
02 : A Cosmic Disappointment
03 : As You Feel The Dark Side Of Progress
04 : Memoirs Of A Well Dressed Parasite
05 : Modern Dread
06 : Private Lives At Dawn
07 : Momentary Lapse In A Crowd
08 : The Boys From Eton
09 : Strange Phenomena
10 : The Commuters III
11 : Some More Terror

Soft Riot In Steel City

Filed under News

14 July 2014

Sheffield Map from 1980

Map of Sheffield from 1890.

After kick-starting things in early 2011 in London, England, SOFT RIOT has now set up base in the northern UK city of Sheffield. There’s a view of trees from the window of the new studio and rolling hills in the distance. Sheffield has a interesting history of experimental and electronic music, as well as the Pennines a short distance away.

Moving forward there’s a number of shows coming up, including Leeds on the 27th and Sheffield on August 1st. A short tour with Berlin’s Keluar (you can check out Soft Riot’s recent remix for their track “Kleo” here) in September in France, Netherlands and Germany. More details on these events in the Live Events section.

More things to announce soon but that’s it for now!

Due to some complications with the event, I’ve been informed that this week’s show at Corsica Studios for Garçonne has been postponed. Apologies for those that have bought tickets and/or who were planning to attend. There’s a possible rescheduling of this event down the line but no details on that yet.’m really sorry to have to announce this, but Thursday’s Garçonne is sadly cancelled + postponed for a later date. I’ll share more later but everyone who has so…

Upcoming shows include the first night of Herzinfarkt, a new series of events myself and MM Lyle of A Terrible Splendour are looking to push up in our soon-to-be new homebase Sheffield. Our first night is at Redhouse Sheffield with live performances by Soft Riot and Jan Doyle Band (Doncaster) with ourselves and guest Mo Dettes DJing. You can check out the event below, or join us on our very new Facebook Page and Group. AUGUST 2014 SOFT RIOT JAN DOYLE BAND … with DJs Ladyboy (A Terrible Splendour, Marcel Wave) + JJD (Soft Riot) Synthpop • Minimal • New Wave • Post-Punk • Coldwave Italo •…

Following on the recently released remix of “Cleo” for Keluar, this version of “Top Of The Pops” by Croatia’s Split Personalities is now up online for streaming. This is a Soft Riot version of This will be released on a compilation of I/II and Split Personalities’ odds and ends; popular adaptations, rehearsals, out-of-prints and reworks. Available soon on micro limited edition cassette (edition of 15) and ltd cd-r (edition of 50), all kindly mastered by miro p. catalogue no. b13. The release date scheduled for June/July 2014 at

You can also listen to the original here:

Soft Riot @ Gothic Pogo Party | Photo by Christoph Kaffee

Live at Gothic Pogo Party | Photo by Christoph Kaffee

Back after a very intense cluster of days in Leipzig at the Gothic Pogo Party festival, a big thanks goes out to the organisers for their efficiency and endurance, as well as the bands Paradox Sequenz, Lola Kumtus and of course, the energetic and enthusiastic Robert Görl! Many familiar faces were seen as well.

And also thanks to those who showed up in London on the 5th for Soft Riot’s dual bill with Vancouver’s Terror Bird. The next London show will be at Corsica Studios on the 26th of this month playing for the night Garçonne. Also on the bill are London’s Krista Papista as well as Berlin’s Crime. This night will be a pre-Pride event and with a nice crowd so there’s a looking forward to this one. More information here: Boy. Other. All. >> Garçonne LIVE << This (pre-Pride) edition of Garçonne is going to be very special….. Opening earlier at 8pm, the first part of the evening…

This will be Soft Riot’s last show with London as a homebase. In July the whole studio and roots move up to Sheffield — a new place to call home! There’s many reasons for this, which perhaps will be outlined later but there’s much anticipation for these new surroundings. Soft Riot’s first show in this new city will be at the Redhouse venue on July 25th, again with Terror Bird as well as Jan Doyle Band from Doncaster. More information below: JULY 2014 SOFT RIOT TERROR BIRD JAN DOYLE BAND… with DJs Ladyboy (A Terrible Splendour, Marcel Wave) + JJD (Soft Riot) Synthpop • Minimal • New Wave • Post-Punk • Coldwave…

Herzinfarkt is the moniker of a new night that a group of us are looking to start up in Sheffield. More information on that to come soon enough.

Finally, a new remix for Zagreb’s Split Personalities will debut this Friday on the Soft Riot SoundCloud. This remix is to be included on a retrospective of Split Personalities’s musical output. This project is the brainchild of Ivan Antunovic of the Half Releases label and the affiliated Small Doses zine.

The track is called “Top Of The Pops” and you can listen to the original here:

That’s it for now, although there’s a realization that the ordering of the news is different than in the title. Oh well. In the meantime, stay cool out there.